On My Way Home: 23 hours of traveling

Going to start by saying, I’m not a fan of flying. Plane rides are no fun. I left JFK at 1pm (EST) on Tuesday and by the time I got to Cambodia, it was 12pm (EST) on Wednesday (exactly 20 hours of flying and 3 hours of layover in Seoul). Not to mention, Cambodia is 11 hours ahead so I basically lost all of Wednesday.

I usually knock-out and sleep through the whole plane ride but I couldn’t sleep at all this trip. So I slept a total of 4 hours, watched 4 movies, listened to my playlist (put together by this awesome person!) at least 10 times, read my book and every single word in the Cosmo June edition.

I don't usually eat food on the plane but I really wanted some wine -- Steak with red wine

First They Killed My Father - which I finally picked up after years and years of consideration and avoidance. I wanted to wait until I could fully appreciate it and this book definitely helped me prep for my summer trip - reminding me and teaching me about Cambodia - the place I call home yet know so little of.

The Korean airport was like a theme park - they had people in traditional costumes putting on shows all over the airport for tourists!

This was called a Naver Cube. Naver is like the Google of Korea and here, there were comfy couches and tables with all different types of laptops for people to use -- for FREE!

The plane ride from Korea to Cambodia was a little over 5 hours. After a 15-hour flight, 5 hours is a joke! While waiting for the plane, I couldn’t help but notice the significant increase in number of Cambodians traveling.

Anyway, I’m just glad that I don’t have to worry about flying and being on a plane for 3 months. Thank god!

Please say hi!

