Cambodia Day 9: In & Around Phnom Penh (Russian Market & Cafe Yejj)

One place EVERYONE goes to when they visit Cambodia, is the Russian Market, also known as Psah Toul Tom Poung. Although the locals refer to it as the latter, you can say ‘russian market’ to any motos on the road and they will take you there.

The Russian Market used to be where I go every weekend or any other times we didn’t have anything to do (which was pretty often). But! I’m sad to admit that the Russian Market is definitely not the same as it used to be. Since the number of garment factories reduced significantly after many years of struggle (such as decreased number of buyers and strict government regulations), the products have decreased both in quantity and quality. Still, I go to the Russian Market hoping that maybe, just maybe I will find something that I don’t already own. Another sad thing is that the prices are not the same. What used to be $1 or $2 is now $5. Sometimes they call such ridiculous prices that I don’t even bother bargaining. There was a chopsticks set that I liked and when I asked the seller how much it was, she said $15. “Oy, T’lai na!” I commented on how expensive it was and just walked away, as she shouted out, ‘ok, $8’ behind my back. I shook my head in dismay knowing I could get it for $5 despite the fact that she had already discounted more than 50% of the price she called originally. I have to admit though, bargaining is definitely one of the main reasons I go to the Russian Market. Where else will I get to buy a $8 skirt for $4? That’s the beauty of shopping here, I guess.

I love these lights. Each of the color balls have holes in them to put the lights in and I have two back in Boston! Although... it takes time, skills and a lot of patience to put it together :S

I loved these paintings by a local artist - simple & nice. Definitely getting some when I go back to Boston.

I love the lamps and wish I could take them back to Boston but I'd have to hand carry them :(

After the Russian Market, we were really hungry. We were going to eat at the  market but it was way too hot so we decided to go to Cafe Yejj. I hadn’t been there in a while so I was excited. I have to say, it was one of the best meals I had in a while. I was, for some weird reason, craving hummus and cous cous and they had a perfect meal for me!

Seafood Mezze - shrimp, smoked salmon with cous cous, hummus, olives and bread. EXACTLY what I needed. $4.50

My friend ordered cous cous with lamb curry which was also very good.

Cafe Yejj is located: #170, Street 450, Toul Tom Pong, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Opened: Mon-Sun 7:30 am  – 9:00 am w/ free wifi. 

I am now off to Vientiane, Laos. Keep posted for my awesome Laos trip! :)

4 thoughts on “Cambodia Day 9: In & Around Phnom Penh (Russian Market & Cafe Yejj)

    • Hi Amyka! I definitely agree that parking is a challenge! There are limited but a few good places around to eat – like Cafe Yejj and Jars of Clay. Do you know any good places? Where do you shop mostly?

  1. Hi! I just got back from a 5 week tour around Cambodia. I bought a few sets of those little lights. I’m having a hard time putting them together, and I noticed you said you have some already…any tips?

    • Haha – I wish I could give you an awesome tip but I totally know your pain! Took me a while to put them together too. I’m sure you’ve tried it but using a pencil/pen with a round/flat tip to push it out worked best for me. And what ever light bulb that doesn’t fit, just cut the whole a bit – it’s really time consuming!! Once you put em together, it’s definitely pretty though…

Please say hi!

