Summer Reading Review 1: Veronika Decides to Die

An important part of summer holiday is reading. I’m not an active reader so during the year, I hardly get through a book or two but during the summer, I tend to read a lot in between my travels or when I’m just relaxing. First book I managed to complete this summer is Paulo Coelho’s Veronika Decides to Die which I purchased in Vientiane at book-cafe in my previous post.

One of the reasons I picked this book was because it was written by Paulo Coelho and it was the thinnest out of the limited collections there were. But the main reason I picked up this book was because of its title. Immediately I knew this had to be about life and living life – a topic I have been obssessed with lately. About appreciating the moments and really LIVING life without worrying about the things that come with it. About becoming you but also about not being afraid to show the other ‘you’ that you have yet discovered.

That’s what this book is about. About a young woman who has a satisfying life yet is not entirely fulfilled and decides to die. I don’t want to give too much away so I will not discuss further.

I decided to just focus on the book and not to google it to read the reviews and such. Often times we tend to avoid books and films by relying completely on other people’s reviews. But in reality, everyone has different opinions and what 99% of the population might dislike, you might actually appreciate – that’s the beauty of art.

So AFTER I was done with the book, I found out that there is also a film version that Paulo Coelho helped with the production stage. However, don’t recommend the film to those people who want to get the same experience the book will give you. If you are like me and HAVE to see them film if it is based on the book that you just enjoyed, go ahead but make sure to read the book before you see the film. The film is very condensed and seems to miss out some parts that I thought were important to making me really appreciate it. Watching the film may be confusing for those that have not read the book.

Here’s a trailer anyway. Judge for yourself! The reviews on IMDB aren’t too bad. As a film, seperated from the book – it’s a nicely filmed movie and the music is great.

Please say hi!

