Cambodia Week 5: Weekend in Phnom Penh!

It’s my fifth week back in Cambodia but my first weekend spent in Phnom Penh. I’ve been trying to squeeze trips on the weekends so past few weekends I’ve been in Sihanoukville, Kep, and Laos. So finally, I’m spending a nothing-to-do weekend here in Phnom Penh.

As you have probably read by now, my sister was off to her “dry-weekend” trip to Bangkok (read about it here) so I spent most, actually, all my weekend with my mom. It was a mother-daughter bonding time. yay!

Last week, I gave you a list of things I will talk about in my upcoming blog posts – scratch that! I was orginally going to talk about Nerd Night at Score but better yet, this weekend, I will actually be meeting the people that run it so it’ll be a feaure on the biweekly event. Yoga on Wednesday never happened and.. here’s your post on my first weekend in Phnom Penh.

Woke up at 8am (Thanks mom for waking me up early on a Saturday!) and mom wanted breakfast. So we decided to go to The Shop. My friend and I used to go there quite often usually after our Friday night outs to sit and repeatedly promise each other never to drink again. The lay out changed a little sine the last time I went there and the menu seemed to have changed too. Either way, we ordered breakfast – quite pricey and I would say a little disappointing. It wasn’t exceptionally good both quality and quantity wise. Nice atmosphere though. And the pastries are good there.

 

Breakfast Burrito kind-of thing

Toast with smoked salmon - eh!

After breakfast, I wanted to do some catch up shopping – my mom is my favorite shopping buddy not just because she usually pays for everything but because I trust her fashion sense most of the time.

We went to Psah Orussey, Orussey Market (Note: Psah is Market), to get some fabrics since I wanted to get a couple of my blazers copied. I figured, if it’s cheap and I can get it made to fit me perfectly, why not. So we went and bought cloth – turns out, it actually costs more than $60 to make one. uhh.. since when?! I used to get dresses made and they were only $15! So.. I said scratch that, I don’t even know if they will make it perfectly the way I want to and I don’t want to risk $60. I might as well buy a new one!

The Fabric Lady at Psah Orussey

More about Psah Orussey: http://www.asialifeguide.com/Street-Smart/around-orussey-market.html 

We then went to Psah Toul Tom Pong, the Russian Market (which I already mentioned in my previous post). Here, my main focus was jewelery! The price of silver has gone waaaaaay up! But knowing a few shop owners there (since I was like 7), I managed to get decent discounts.

I loove this elephant necklace which originally cost $15 but I got it for $10 :)

I love these earrings - very simple but cute!

I bought this pendant in Luang Prabang, Laos actually – I took it to the Russian market to get chains for it.

Can't really see the colors but Pink and Yellow wooden bangles - would look really good at the beach!

 

I like these too - and they cost $1.50 each!

After about an hour or so, we were done looking around the Russian Market and we were getting hungry again! I remembered receiving a flyer last week about a Vintage Fair on st.240 (where the shop was) so we decided to go back there. There’s also a restaurant called The 240 where they serve organic food so we decided to try it out.

The result..? Both – not so good. The Vintage Fair was ok. Everything was $5 – $10 and I was expecting more jewelery, accessories and furniture but they were just a bunch of dresses that I, personally, would not pay $10 for.

The organic food – hmm.. I don’t want to talk about it. It was just bad food, expensive, not-that-great service. etc. etc. Definitely won’t be going back there again!

 

To top this lovely day off, we went to Aziadee (which I mentioned in my previous post) for an Ayurvedic massage. It’s the promotion of the month so you can get 90mins for $18 (normally $23). Love it!

Please say hi!

