Photo Walk Cambodia, Royal University of Fine Arts & The Rest…

Totally a blog-worthy event.

I was bored one day, and decided to google ‘photo walk cambodia’ out of the blue. I don’t know why I thought there would be a group – actually, I was skeptical but searched for one anyway hoping that someone creative & fun would set up a photo walk in Phnom Penh. I had never been to one but I was totally ready to go on one. To my surprise, I was right – there was someone creative & fun putting on a photo walk – every month from what I could tell by the website. YESSSS!! I looked at the latest post – It was written in June about a photo walk in June but nothing on July. I thought: “why not,” and actually contacted the site asking if there was one coming up soon (I don’t usually contact people via the ‘contact us’ tab) and I got an email back saying there was one on Sunday. So After grabbing brunch with the fam at Java, (which by the way, I have already mentioned in my previous post), I walked over to 3Rivers at 11am.

Brunch at Java

My favorite at Java - Caesar Salad with Smoked Salmon.

In total, when we started, there were 7 people… although at the end, there were only 5 of us.  On the way there was fun but when we got to the Royal University of Fine Arts (RUFA), it was better. Very quiet and peaceful to just walk around the campus taking photos of the art works laying around all over the campus. For some reason, I had a fascination towards doors, chipped of paint and their colors today – so a lot of my photos ended up being focused on doors.

and my fascination for doors begins…

There were few things that were going through my mind while I was on this photo walk.

1) the way I was kind of trying to ‘wash’ my eyes and see things in a new perspective.  Because I grew up here, all the scenes in Cambodia are familiar and mundane for me. Nothing really fascinates me. However, lately, I’ve been trying to see and feel things in Cambodia a different way – a way to kind of not take things for granted and appreciate things. Hence, the reason I started this blog in the first place.

2) the way Cambodia was changing so rapidly. Not just in technological way but how progressive the art scenes were here. Some of the artworks I was seeing were unimaginable few years ago. There was one piece that really struck me. See photos below for more.

3) the eclectic-ness of Cambodia. Not something I haven’t entirely ‘not noticed’ but something I’ve been dismissing. I remember I used this word to describe Laos – but the truth is, Cambodia’s just as eclectic, if not, even more. The mixture of modern designs, old French & European designs with traditional Khmer designs is just beautiful and almost, fascinating.

Ok, enough talking, here are some photos!

I was almost shocked by this piece. It's a metal sculpture of two skeletons on a moto with weapons. It was on a cement cube with bas relief on it which shocked me even more.

 
The bas reliefs were full of crime scenes from robbery, murder to…

gambling and even rape

 

Clearly expressing all the corruptions in Cambodia – although I’m sure these scenes can be related to most countries too. It was an interesting modern art piece with a mix of traditional art (bas relief) style.

After our peaceful and successful time at RUFA, just absorbing everything around us, we were headed back to 3rivers where we started.

On the way back. The colors of Southeast Asia: Orange & Yellow

Cooling down back at 3rivers after our 3-hour walk

 

Overall, very successful event. I had a lot of fun, met great people and just got a chance to see Phnom Penh through a different lens.  It was a great opportunity for me to once again take in and indulge into the beautiful sceneries of Cambodia I tend to dismiss and take for granted.

I then decided to head over to Elsewhere for some real tanning (not a farmers tan I got from the walk), swimming, reading and a glass of mojito. That too was very successful.

Getting some sunlight at Elsewhere

And catching up on my summer reading.

 

Overall, this was a weekend I exactly needed. Very relaxing & peaceful – the time definitely stopped a few times for me this weekend. 

For more photos, visit:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/64765085@N07/sets/72157626985278311/

One thought on “Photo Walk Cambodia, Royal University of Fine Arts & The Rest…

Please say hi!

