Nerd Night Phnom Penh

There’s really not that much to do in Cambodia..especially at night apart from going out to the same set of bars and clubs. Actually, nowadays, there are a lot more events here than there were back in 2008 (when I left) but still, things to do are very limited. Ever since I came back for the summer, my sister has been telling me about this event called Nerd Night and told me I HAD to come with her. uhhh… Night out.. with nerds..? What is it? I tagged along anyway.

This was my second Nerd Night in Phnom Penh… and I love it! I finally got to meet the organizers in person and had a short but awesome conversation! Thanks!

This event, which happens on a Monday, twice a month, in different settings, brings the international community together for a night of interesting presentations, sharing passions in 20 slides and 20 seconds each.

The latest one I went to was held at Mao’s. Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos since it was really crowded and I was at the back but here are some photos by leboost.com  from the previous Nerd Night which was held at Score Bar!

20.June.2011 My First Nerd Night Experience at Score!

On the left is Roswell, one of the organizers, whom I had the previlege of meeting!

Sitting on the stairs because there were no seats. That’s how crowded it gets! Behind us is Roman who runs Flicks! He gave an awesome presentation at the latest Nerd Night event.

People Gather to Watch the Presentations!

For more pictures, click here.

Feel free to join me next time I go. I’ll put up the event here! If you are just in & around Phnom Penh looking for things to do on a Monday night, this is a laid back event where you can meet a lot of people.

I also hear that there is a Nerd Night Siem Reap now. I’m hoping to check out their next one on 15.Aug!

For updates on when, where & what,

Follow Nerd Night Phnom Penh on Twitter: @NerdNightPP

Follow Nerd Night Siem Reap on Twitter: @NerdNiteSR

Oh, and while you are at it, follow ME :D @nananapark

Please say hi!

