Southeast Asia: August Road Trip – BIG CHANGE

After a lot of considerations and planning, and replanning, and replanning. We have finalized our trip plan! (Well.. more like I have!) I’d like to say thank you to fellow travellers Jake and Ed for sharing your experiences/stories and tips!

You see, I thought three months in Cambodia was a long time. I thought that I would have enough time to look and visit everywhere in Cambodia in time for me to travel outside of Cambodia. However, I was wrong. Trying to also fit in friends, family, work and a couple of sick days, all I have done pretty much is hang out in Phnom Penh. I’m not complaining though. Having somewhat of a routine has made the feeling of ‘home’ come back to me slowly. I was feeling more at ease here and felt like I belong here to some extent. Consequently, it has taken away my ‘traveler’ feelings.

Now, with one month left, let me repeat, ONE MONTH LEFT.. I’m kind of not too keen on traveling outside the country knowing that I won’t be able to come back here for a while when I leave at the end of August. Random thoughts like this started giving me anxiety and had me worried about how that meant I won’t be able to spend too much time with my parents. If I go on a road trip out of the country for 10 days, that’s 10 days less to spend in Cambodia, where I call ‘home.’ Afterall, I’m here to indulge on things that I dismissed. Am I ready to explore another country when I feel like I haven’t fully taken-in Cambodia yet?

There are also a lot of places to travel within the country that I have not yet been to. Kratie, Mondulkiri, Ratanakiri… etc. Therefore, I have decided to take this road trip.. local style! No going over the border to Thailand.. It will consist of trips to places I have not been to here in Cambodia plus places I would love going back to such as, Siem Reap and Sihanoukville.

I apologize that I won’t be able to blog about Thailand and my experiences there. But I promise you that I will still be blogging about some of the awesome things here in Cambodia. Also, if you remember, my sister was in Thailand so read her posts!

This last month will be all about Cambodia, friends, families, love, home, food, culture and everything this blog was supposed to capture. Stay tuned! :)

For those of you who maybe will be doing the trip I was planning to do, here is my original plan until I decided to be all nostalgic and boring :)

We will be taking the 7:45am bus to Siem Reap. Taking the CHEAPEST option which is 20,000Riel for a trip down. That is… $5 for a 6 hour bus ride. I’ve taken all the other buses before..but remember, do NOT take the Paramount Angkor Bus for $7. You might have had luck but I’ve only had bad luck with it.. so I do not recommend it. Check out why in my previous post.

Phnom Penh to Siem Reap: Bus. $5

Siem Reap to BKK: Shared Taxi/Bus ($8) to Poi Pet, Tuk Tuk ($1-$2) to Aranyaprathet, Train ($1.50) 1:55pm to BKK. Success!!! Hopefully. :D

Turns out, Flight from BKK to PP is a lot cheaper than the other way around. I know I said it would be a road trip.. and I apologize that it’s not.. but I don’t think I can go through Siem Reap again to return to PP. Especially if I have already seen Siem Reap on the way there.. therefore..

BKK to PP: Flight ($40) – However, this might still change..

Staying at Lub D in Silom, Bangkok where my sister stayed when she went last time. We decided to stay at the cheapest room, a 10 person shared dorm. It’s $10 per person..clean, wifi, lockers, ac.. no complaints! Also, a great way to meet people ;)

This is where I got to until I decided not to go. So.. hopefully SOME of that information is helpful. Leave questions in the comment box if you have any – will be glad to answer them. If you have suggestions on where I should go in Cambodia, feel free to let me know too!

 

Thanks for reading!!

2 thoughts on “Southeast Asia: August Road Trip – BIG CHANGE

  1. Hey there! When I visited Cambodia we went to a national park in Ratannakirri called Virachey park. I don’t know if you been there already but it was AMAZING! The landscape is rolling hills, grasslands, forest, mountains etc! It is the best national park in South East Asia in my opinion.

Please say hi!

