Trip to Oudong: The Former Capital City of Cambodia

I’ve been enjoying my time in Phnom Penh. I work during the weekdays so during the weekends, I catch up with friends and family, running errands I couldn’t do during the week. I also go out and try to get as much sunlight as possible because working has me stuck indoors all day. However, last weekend, we decided to do something fun and go on a day trip to Oudong. So… mom, my sister and I packed our camera and headed to Oudong. 40km out of Phnom Penh, the drive was an hour-long. Not too far away but dodging the traffic takes time.

* First of all, I’m kind of annoyed/angry because my photos from Oudong got deleted off the camera. So I can’t share with you the pictures I took :( Instead I’ll share some of the ones my sister took. Sigh…

On the way to oudong - we saw pretty lotus flowers. :)

Oudong, as you can see from the title, was the capital city of Cambodia from 1618-1866. The kingdom was built on a hill, Phnom Oudong where the king settled after the Thais invaded Lovek, former, former capital city of Cambodia.

Oudong was later destroyed by the Khmer rouge in 1977 but it’s a beautiful place nonetheless. There has been restorations and the Khmer people still go to Oudong for the temple there – especially during the holidays to pay their respect.

I went to Oudong a few years ago with my class but turns out mom and my sister had never been there before. So I took them with me! There are 500 stairs up the hill, I believe (according to the little kids that were following us the whole time giving us a little commentary in pretty good English). There are a lot of  monkeys on the way.. and if you know me well, you would know that I am not a huge fan of monkeys. But they didn’t disturb me so I did not disturb them either.

The hike up is easy! Just nice, new stairs :)

The hike up was not difficult at all because the stairs were new and very safe! It was beautiful when we got to the top and you could see how flat Cambodia is. No high buildings, no tall mountains.. just.. FLAT. I love it because you can really see the horizon. There are more locals than foreigners visiting Oudong and it’s not too crowded so it was very relaxing. We didn’t get to stay too long though because it looked like it was about to rain. We hiked down just in time and got in the car.

View from the top

On the way back, we stopped at one of the biggest temples in Cambodia. It was beautiful! We had a good walk around. Mom was attempting to take photos while my sister and I were laughing at how our legs were shaking from walking up and down the stairs.

On the road, there are a number of spots where they sell fresh steamed corn! When we were younger, our family used to just drive out to buy a bag of corns and eat on the road while we drove around looking at the sceneries of Cambodia outside the city. For old time’s sake, we stopped and bought a huge bag of corn – and it was good! Just like the old times. There used to be a lot of sellers but now there are only a handful.

Interesting to note on the way and back is that there are a lot of pretty mosques there populated with the Cham-Muslims – group of minorities living in Cambodia.

If you are interested in going, you can always get a tuk tuk there. There are also some planned trips like the one here. My sister and her friend attempted to go there by themselves on a bike. At the end, they were too tired to come back so we sent the car to pick them up. Definitely worth doing an early morning/ day trip to!

I wish I had more pictures for you! But will get back to you if and when I find them. 

Please say hi!

