Traveling Problems: Away from the loved ones.

I want to dedicate this post to someone really special in my life — my amazing mother.

One of the hardest things travelers or people who live abroad have to face is not being able to spend special days and holidays with their loved ones – especially if they are miles and miles away on the other side of the world and something as simple as sending over a card can be.. very complicated.

Ever since I moved to Boston, more than enough times, I’ve had to celebrate those moments via Skype calls, phone calls or emails.

Today is my beloved mom’s 48th birthday and once again, for the 3rd year, I am not physically next to her celebrating and spending the day with her MAKING sure she has a good time instead of having to sit here and worry… HOPING that she is having/had a good day.

What makes this year especially hard is that my sister is not in Cambodia either. In fact, she is sitting here right next to me. The past couple of years, I was sad that I wasn’t able to be a part of making this day the best day possible for my mom but having my sister next to her and being able to nag my sister to make sure my mom gets the best birthday, made me feel better. But this year, it’s all up to my dad (which meant he had to endure both of my and my sister’s nagging to make sure he makes her day extra special).

The first and the second year away, I made birthday videos and messages but.. that got old and I really didn’t have time to make one this year. I was really sad that all we could do was to call her and wish her a happy birthday (which I’m sure she would have been happy about regardless), but thank goodness we still have wonderful friends in Cambodia who are just awesome.

Our friend kindly printed out the card my sister and I made for my mom, bought a bouquet of roses and a bottle of our family’s favorite wine and personally delivered them to my mom. This morning, I woke up to a text from my mom thanking us, telling us that we were the best. She also sent along a picture with her new iPhone my dad got her! It made me a little sad that it was the best we could do…and still it made her day. Imagine how much we could’ve done if we were actually next to her – or even in the same country.

Thank you so much Mary! You are the best! We owe you big time!!

Once again, Happy Birthday Mom! I love you with all my heart. <3

Have you had a similar situation? What have you done to celebrate your loved ones’ special day while being miles and miles away?

2 thoughts on “Traveling Problems: Away from the loved ones.

  1. I can also totally relate to this! THIS year is a great one for me; I went home for my dad’s 60th and I will be home in time for my mom’s birthday in December. I’ll also have Christmas with my family. Being there for these things hasn’t happened in years, being there for all three of these events makes me feel sooo lucky. Travel and exploration are wonderful and essential I think, but nothing can replace family! All I can say is thank God for the internet, for Skype and all the technology that helps loved ones feel a bit closer when they are on the other side of the planet. :-)

Please say hi!

