New England Aquarium: My love for penguins…

After three and a half years in Boston, I finally made it to the New England Aquarium. I’ve heard people tell me stories after their visits, I know that there are college nights with free admissions and I’ve seen the penguin ads at the MBTA stations. It took me two free tickets to finally convince me to go – which is odd because I really do love penguins. I guess I just never found the time to go and now that I had two free tickets in my hand, I was going to make time to go. I also waited for the boyfriend to come visit me so we could go together :).

Needless to say, my entire two-hour trip to the aquarium consisted of me just staring at the penguins while doing a quick tour around the not-so-big aquarium. I’ve been to many aquariums and zoos in the world (my favorite aquarium being the Under Water World in Singapore) so this aquarium was actually pretty tiny. But, I was more than happy to just stand there and watch the penguins… mostly pooping at other penguins. If you haven’t realized, I am absolutely amazed with penguins and have been since I was a kid. It all started with Pingu. For those of you who don’t know what Pingu is, watch this video.

Anyway, with the two free tickets, we didn’t have to stand in any line. I didn’t think that there would be too many people, but I was wrong. End of December, gorgeous weather, of course there was going to be a lot of people and… children.

Two free admissions to the aquarium!

For more about ticketing and hours, visit here.

As soon as we got in, we saw the penguins! We stood there for a while. After realizing that penguins just poop without looking back, my dear boyfriend’s mission of the day was to see a penguin poop on another one. I was very doubtful so we moved on. After a quick tour around the aquarium, we found new set of penguins where… a penguin actually pooped on another. Mission accomplished. Haha. You definitely don’t see that everyday.

Penguins!

The unfortunate target of the day. Poor thing was so confused.

We saw some awesome under water creatures. I usually am terrified of jelly fish and think that they look really gross, but found a really interesting one!

This Leidy's Comb Jelly had lights glowing inside like Christmas lights!

We also got to touch Cownose Rays and Bonnethead sharks.

Cownose Ray.. felt.. weird..

Overall, it was a fun day at the aquarium. Wouldn’t say I would go back anytime soon but it’s definitely worth checking out if you are in the area! :) For college students, there’s an annual college night where admissions is free with a college ID so keep your eyes open!

Please say hi!

