SoWa Vintage Market (Pt.1): The Background

After posting a quick preview of my weekend on the blog, I was contacted by one of the great founders of SoWa Vintage Market, who invited me to come in to take some photos of the items at the market and do some interviews! It was so exciting to meet some vendors and hear their stories! They kindly let me take photos of their items, which I will be sharing with you throughout the week. Since the vendors took time to speak with me, I thought I would do separate posts, featuring them specifically throughout the week. So stay tuned as I introduce you to some great people I met over the weekend!

I was a little sick the weekend before but last weekend, it actually got worse. So Friday and Saturday, I was pretty dead with the flu. On Sunday, I was feeling a little better so I decided to visit the market since I made some promises.

The SoWa Vintage Market open in 2010 and was founded by Stephanie and John who are at the market every weekend and have their own booth. This is the first year the market is opened during the winter, which I think is great since there aren’t too many things to do in Boston when the weather gets cold. And for someone like me, who loves flea markets, farmers markets and garage sales, this is awesome. I remember going to the Brooklyn Flea last year and loved it – it’s a similar kind of feeling and I was so excited that you could find it in Boston!

To get to the Vintage Market, you can get off at Copley, Arlington or Boylston and it will be a similar walk. I got off at Arlington station and walked over. It was an easy walk, about 20 minutes, but I had been there before so if it’s your first time, I’d say, look at a map!

The market is open every Sunday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and it also opens every first Friday of the month (so last Friday) from 5 p.m. – 9 p.m. The winter market is not as crowded as it is over the summer (according to what I have heard since I haven’t been to the market in the summer) but items go fast! I saw a leather jacket I liked the week before and because I didn’t have cash with me (Oh, one more thing, have cash with you), I didn’t get it and told myself I was going to get it the next time – well there was no next time because it wasn’t there anymore :(.

The market is located on 460C Harrison Ave, Boston GPS: 365 Albany St. Entrance is free and parking is $5. I really can’t wait for it to be summer because I hear it’s even more awesome. :) Anyway, I just wanted to give you a quick background information on the place. Stay tuned for amazing photos and stories of vendors coming up throughout the week!

Happy Monday everyone! Stay warm and don’t get sick! 

2 thoughts on “SoWa Vintage Market (Pt.1): The Background

  1. The Broadway Station on the Red Line is also a good subway stop for the SoWa Vintage Market..top of the stairs at Broadway, walk over the bridge, take a left on Albany Street, go down about two blocks and enter the Market through the Albany Street entrance…less than a 10 minute walk….bridge can be cold and windy, so bundle up!

Please say hi!

