Happy One Year!

Hi guys! I’m writing on a Saturday!! !! Hope you are having a great weekend so far. I was going to wait until Monday to post this but then it wouldn’t really be as special. It has been exactly a year since I officially started this blog on May 26, 2011, when I was on my way home to Cambodia! It’s actually pretty surreal to think that it has already been a year. A year ago today, I didn’t know where this blog was going to go and I definitely wasn’t aware of all the wonderful things it has brought me. The amazing people, opportunities and just a state of mind and attitude I’ve gained over the year is phenomenal.

I met a blogger at an event on Tuesday and we discussed about what keeps us going and what motivates us to keep the blog up and running. I, of course, don’t have a tangible benefit from keeping the blog up. It’s not my full time job, I don’t get paid for it, in fact, it costs me money – haha. But – my underlining goal and motif is to really share with you my thoughts and experiences hoping that maybe it will encourage someone out there to get out and experience different things. I write so that I can convince people to embrace the different emotions in our day to day lives and to just be more aware of the little things and their surroundings. I write so that people respect each other and embrace differences.

I’ve been more than grateful for people that take the time out of their day to read my posts and give me encouraging words. In the end, I’m blogging for you because without you, this blog would barely mean anything to me.

So many things have happened in a year but check out these Top 5 posts on my blog so far! :)

Luang Prabang: Places to go, things to see! 

Thinking about Voluntourism? Let’s give it more thought! 

Elephant Trekking in Mondulkiri

Spreading no other than…BEER PONG in Cambodia

Awful but awesome road trip to the beach!

Happy blogiversary! Thanks for reading and I’m looking forward to another eventful, amazing year. 

6 thoughts on “Happy One Year!

  1. I love this post! Happy 1 year :)
    I definitely write because it inspires me to be better, to live a fuller life, to experience more. I think about my day/week and wonder if I’ve made the most of it, enough so that I could document it and potentially enlighten someone or just pique their interest.

    I feel so lucky to have begun blogging – hopefully I’ll see you at the June meetup :)

    • Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and always, always thank you for reading and commenting. It really means a lot to me. I’ll try my best to get to the June meetup – I’ll hopefully see you there!

Please say hi!

