Challenge #2: Being let go and letting go

Thanks for letting me go.
I realized that the person I fell in love with is not who you actually are.
I realized I was always putting you before myself and that you were putting yourself before me.
I realized that the words ‘love’ and ‘care’ have completely different meanings to others.
I realized I’m only 22 with so much potential and too many dreams to be tied down by someone as selfish as you.
I realized that I do deserve someone and something a lot better.
I realized I’m too good to be with someone who doesn’t appreciate my time, attention and care.
And that if the person doesn’t know how to appreciate, they probably are not worth it.
I realized you were actually making me feel miserable but I was too selfless to notice.
I realized that I love myself way too much to spend time with someone that doesn’t love me back.

I realized the person I need is someone who knows how to gaze back, who enjoys the long walks and who appreciates the time spent together; someone who will do things with me because he knows how much it means to me and someone who actually cares how my day went. Not someone who abandons me in the middle of a foreign city, which I was in just for him.

Hope you find someone you deserve because I know that you don’t deserve me.

So thanks for letting me go
and helping me grow.

2 thoughts on “Challenge #2: Being let go and letting go

  1. Wow, what a powerful post! I’m guessing you broke up with your boyfriend? I hope your heart heels soon and I applaud you for letting go of something that wasn’t working — that is SO hard!

    • Thanks for the kind words. I hesitated about posting it but a big part of my blog is about embracing emotions for self-growth so I decided to take the risk. Hope you had a lovely weekend :)

Please say hi!

