She’s in town: Hedwig and the Angry Inch!

If you know me, you also know my obsession with the musical and the movie, Hedwig and the Angry Inch. Ever since I saw it for the first time in Korea (in Korean) when I was 14, I’ve been in love. I watched the musical and that same summer bought the music CD, listened to it on loop (drove my mom crazy) and also went to the concert held later on in the summer. I bought the DVD and have watched it about 15 times by now. It’s my comfort movie and it’s actually one of the only movies that I can sit and focus 100% even though I’ve seen it a gazillion times.

However! I’ve never seen the musical production on stage before (I mean in English) – not even a school production and it was my goal to see one. Never ended up finding one so I’ve just been searching and waiting patiently – until I found out that Hedwig was going to be playing for a short time in August at Club Oberon! You know Club Oberon from me mentioning the Donkey Show many times – and I was thrilled beyond words to be going to watch this show. I’ve spread my Hedwig love to many people and so decided to take my friend who had never seen/heard of Hedwig before. I’m usually careful about who I share my obsession of Hedwig with since it’s you know – not your typical go-to movie.. but I knew my friend would appreciate it so we went.

Long story short, Hedwig is a “transexual punk rock girl from East Berlin who tours the US with her rock band as she tells her life story and follows the ex-boyfriend/bandmate who stole her songs.” (from IMDb)

Check out the trailer here:

Hedwig Boston show was awesome! It was my first time seeing it on stage since I saw it 8 years ago in Korea so it was a very different experience (well, in a different language, first of all). I have every scene and every song memorized so seeing it in a different form from the movie, was a weird experience. There were some parts where it gave me chills even! Although I knew the story, it still makes me tear up a bit and I have to say, JJ Parkey made a pretty damn good Hedwig! Also, the venue was perfect and the way it set up was exactly how I had imagined it would have been if I was in the movie! One of the most impressive things, however, was the way they improvised and localized the performance by mentioning things like Chick-fil-a and Bruce Springsteen’s concert that was happening at Fenway Park – definitely knew the audience and the audience did react well!

You can find more pictures from the night on my flickr:
Hedwig and the Angry Inch Photos

She’s only in town for one more week so DON’T MISS THE SHOW!
Tickets are available online

Please say hi!

