Thanksgiving weekend spent with travelers

This thanksgiving was far from anything traditional. But then again, the only time I’ve really spent it was at church, growing up (and those of you who keep asking how thanksgiving has anything to do with religion, Wikipedia it!) and with friends over the last few years in the U.S. This year, instead of spending it with one family or group of friends, I actually spent it with 200 strangers from strange lands.

I woke up at 11am, headed over to HI-Boston and cooked for 200 people with about 9 volunteers all from HI-Boston and Couchsurfing.org. As an active member for both organizations, I had a great time getting to know everyone and just sharing the joy of well….. sharing.  It wasn’t a fancy thanksgiving dinner but all the essentials were there; Stuffing, Mashed Potato, Turkey, Gravy, Green Bean Casserole and Pies.. LOTS OF PIES.

I had a two groups of two couchsurfers staying with me over the long weekend as well so my thanksgiving weekend was just full of awesome times with travelers. :)

After all of the guests had left, I finally got some time to finish my homework (I’m taking a TEFL course, if I forgot to mention) and head over to a friend’s house for dinner. We just used whatever ingredient we had and ended up making Spinach & Tomato Quinoa Risotto, which actually turned out really good. Definitely adding that to my regular recipe list. :)


Now I’m ready to get back to working out and burning all the calories I inhaled through lots of food and alcohol. And no, being on a trampoline for one hour wasn’t enough to burn it all.

How was your thanksgiving spent? Lots of food and family time?

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving weekend spent with travelers

Please say hi!

