The Big Announcement

This is the announcement I’ve been waiting patiently to make. All the little hints I’ve been dropping between my sentences in every post and all the vague status updates (which I know is annoying) I’ve been putting up on my Facebook were all because of this one announcement: I am, indeed, just packing up and leaving.

Let’s clarify because that just sounded like I have given up on my life here and that’s not true at all. I’m just about to unfold a new, very new and exciting, chapter in my life.

For those of you that have followed me throughout my journey (physical and mental) recorded in this blog, you probably know the amount of transition and emotional roller coaster I’ve been through with trying to find that ‘perfect’ lifestyle and settling down. Then, I had an epiphany few months ago where I realized being comfortable is not really what I need or want.

The Leaving

tumblr_m09y9izxaM1qho97ro1_1280

On February 26th, 2013, I am officially leaving my almost-5-years life in the U.S. for a new adventure. My one way ticket to Copenhagen is what will take me to the first leg of my journey. I will be traveling Europe for 3 months with a tight budget and no real plans. After, I’ll be in Toronto for a conference (TBEX) and will fly to Cambodia for a month and finally end up in India to volunteer for 3 months.

This is a big leap for me but it’s something I need to begin.

I’ve always been a planner – someone who needed some type of security. Uncertainty is the scariest thing ever. But I’m not going to let that fear stop me from what I want to do – I’m not going to let the fear of the unknown stop me from wanting to go out there and experience the world.

My full travel country list: U.S., Denmark, Germany, Austria, Slovenia, Italy, Spain, France, Belgium, Netherlands, U.K., Canada, Thailand, Cambodia, India

The Project

tumblr_m0qbfvfViT1qho97ro1_1280

Of course, knowing me, I won’t be able to just travel without getting something done. I am launching nananatravels.com where you will be able to follow my travels and gain travel tips that may help you plan yours. I’ve been toying with this idea for a while ever since I started this blog. I want to be able to use my skills in communications to share my passion with the world so I thought ‘why not give it a try?’

This blog is still my baby. However, since this blog is very personal, I will keep this blog but treat it more like a diary where I share with you more in detail about my day and my thoughts.

So, please follow me on nananatravels.com AND keep reading summerinsea.com because your comments and support are what allowed me to be brave enough to take this big leap forward.

The Reason

tumblr_lzepfan3eH1qho97ro1_1280

I briefly mentioned above that I’m leaving because I don’t want to be tied down by the fear of uncertainty – but, there are several reasons why I decided to leave.

Being in the U.S. alone as an international student has been an amazing experience – it has taught me so many life and professional skills that will take me far. However, living in the U.S. has had its fair share of downs. It’s not the friendliest, easiest place to live as a non-citizen (visa/regulation-wise, the people are amazing). Visa issues are stressful and tough to fight through. After years of wanting to stay, I realized that it really wasn’t worth the fight – when in reality, I was only trying to settle down because that’s what everyone else seemed to be doing.

There’s no clearer sign than my U.S. visa coming to an end.

And yes, I could stay and work something out – but I gave up looking for a job or a way to stay few months back. Having my visa come to an end is actually the best thing that can ever happen to me – because otherwise, I wouldn’t have the guts to pack up and leave. I’ve always enjoyed the challenge of starting over in a new place. I want to know what it’s like to live in different cities around the world and I know that if I don’t try, I’ll never know and would’ve spent years sitting in front of a computer thinking ‘what if….’

Another reason I’m leaving is because I want to go after my passion.

I originally came to the U.S. to study PR so I could work in nonprofits. I got side tracked and ended up in a corporate setting – which I actually do love. PR, Media, Tech, Communications, etc. will always interest me – these are my hobbies. I will read about them, tweet about them, talk about them even if it wasn’t my job but it’s not my passion. My passion is to use those skills that I have acquired, use words and online media to advocate for change, which is why I decided to go out and search for field experiences where I can use my skills to help in anyway I can. I don’t exactly know what that will be but like I said, everything works out the way it’s supposed to in the end and I was able to find an amazing opportunity volunteering in India for 3 months. I can only hope that things will keep working out for the better :)

The Journey

tumblr_m0qbc8rypK1qho97ro1_1280

So please, stay with me throughout my journey as I try to figure things out. I truly believe that if I focus on the present and try my best, things work out eventually – like how it has worked out perfectly for me today. Allow me to share with you as I indulge and appreciate day by day, journey by journey and take you through another crazy roller coaster ride of emotions and new experiences.

As always, thank you for reading. Here’s to new beginnings. Safe travels! :)

‘Like’ Nanana Travels on Facebook to stay updated on my travels! 

All images from: (365) Days of Tumblr
3 thoughts on “The Big Announcement

  1. Sounds incredible! I’ll be leaving the U.S. come October to travel the world in search of experiences. I’m looking to buy my TBEX ticket here in a week or two too. Maybe I’ll see you in Toronto. Either way, congrats! Enjoy the journey :)

Please say hi!

