Dear My Best Friend,

EK, thanks for being the best sister and the bestest friend anyone could ask for. We’ve always grown up being close but the past year and a half I’ve spent with you in Boston, I’ve gotten to know you more not just as a younger sister but as a person – an independent, smart, strong and brave person. You’ve taught me so many things and changed my perspectives to be a better person. You’ve taught me how to be myself and care for others at the same time. You’ve taught me to be positive and really appreciate the infinite opportunities that are out there; not to be scared but to be excited about the uncertainties.

We’ve had our differences and conflicts but we also learned to work around those. I really couldn’t have asked for a better roommate, friend and a companion who I could spend and cherish every moment with. I don’t want you to feel like I’m leaving you behind. I’m not. I’ll always be here for you when you need me. I’m only a phone call and a message away. We’ll also have plenty of time to have our own apartment together again to trash and drink lots of wine in. We’ll have plenty of time to nap on the couch together – eat, nap, eat, sleep and repeat.

I had hesitated whether to post this or not because I know it’s going to make you sad. I also didn’t want to make it sound like I was saying good bye because I really am not. I’m just going away for a mini trip and I will see you very soon. So, don’t be sad. I’m gonna have exciting stories to share with you when I see you. You are kinda great, even though I don’t tell you so and always nag you.

I can’t wait to see you soon in Toronto and then spend awesome time in Cambodia together. Love you lots and lots and lots. <3

From your naggy sister.

Love you! xx

6 thoughts on “Dear My Best Friend,

  1. Hi. I kind of feel like I’m invading a personal moment here, but I do want to say how reading the post brought gladness to my heart. You two are as sisters should be.

  2. Thanks for this.
    I now know how it feels to receive an unexpected letter from someone that left! Sorry for doing that to you millions of times before ;)
    I know I talked about this before; I’m sad that you’re gone but I’m super happy about it too. We have so much in life waiting to happen, and you’re out there literally making them happen and I think it’s awesome, you’re awesome.
    This goodbye needed to happen so I can keep concentrating on the exciting things that will happen to you and me. I can’t wait to see you in Toronto, Cambodia, and India.
    I expect constant updates and stories from you.
    Stay safe, have fun, and stay awesome.
    I love you.

    Ek

Please say hi!

