Boston grows on you

During my 4+ years in Boston, I always thought that Boston was a temporary place. I never felt like I was ‘home’ and always knew that some day, I will have to leave. I never tried to get to know the city better or gave it time to approach me. But, clearly I was wrong. Boston and its amazingness had crept on me without me noticing it. As I sat in front of limited wifi, reading about what was happening in Boston, my heart ached. My heart ached not just for my friends and the people I knew, but for the city. Without realizing, I was treating Boston as one of the many ‘homes’ I have. A lot of times, when people ask me what it’s like to live in Boston, I say “Boston is a place that grows on you,” not because you don’t like it when you first get there but because you leave it feeling like you are a part of it and it’s a part of you.

I posted an article titled “You May Leave Boston, but Boston Never Leaves You” on my Facebook page because I couldn’t agree more.

“Millions of Americans came of age at Boston’s many colleges and universities. For them, Monday’s tragedy is a reminder of how much the city still means.”

Even though I was away physically, I was still attached. The familiar streets and how my life evolved around those places, the people who are known to be cold-hearted but are actually the nicest city people I’ve met and the feel of community it has, which we witnessed last week – these are all the things I was being sad for. And when life in Boston was starting to return to normal slowly, I too was relieved. Last week just made me realize how much I miss Boston and that the city will always have a place in my heart.

So Boston, I miss you and I love you. Thank you for growing on me and being part of who I am today. 

Please say hi!

