The importance of living today

tumblr_lxsrkkPMR11qho97ro1_1280

As I received the news of one of my childhood friends who left her loved ones behind at such a young age, it made me realize, once again, how important it is to live life to the fullest. Although she was young, she was always out there ready to take on new challenges and anything that came her way – clearly touching many people’s lives. She was young but she was happy, enjoying the life she was living. 

We tend to forget how unexpected and short life can be. We are busy living for tomorrow that we forget to focus on what we have right now.  It took me a long time to realize the importance of living life to the fullest and I still struggle to maintain that attitude towards life but this week I got a big reminder. 

One of the many reasons I decided to embark on this journey was exactly that. Wanting to do what I believe is best for me right now. Also, living far away from loved ones (my parents), I had not seen them for more than 2 years. Was it really all worth it when to me, happiness in life was exploring new places, learning new things and being close to the ones that I loved? What if something happened to one of us, and I couldn’t express my love to them because I was miles and miles away? I wanted to be able to live a life where I can be there for the people I care. 

I want to take this time to say thank you, and I love you to everyone who have been and still are in my life – allowing me to have become the person I am today. This trip has been amazing – not only because I was learning so much on the road and really letting myself be, but because I got to connect with old friends; people who have had a huge impact on my life that I don’t get to see because we are all spread out around the world. I wish I had seen her one last time and connected with her through our childhood memories – but I didn’t get a chance to tell her how big of a part she had in allowing me to be who I am today; that her feisty, brave attitude towards life has taught me to do the same. It’s always too late when you realize all the things you want to say to the person. So I’m going to take the time to tell people how much I appreciate them before it’s too late.

Are you living your life to the fullest and can honestly say you have no regrets? Did you remember to tell your loved ones how much they mean to you?

Please say hi!

